Airline staff

Daddy, why is that gate so narrow?

So people don’t take their big bags onto the aeroplane themselves, and they check them in to go in the cargo hold.

So the pilot can put them in the aeroplane?

Yes, the pilot needs to put them in the place underneath. Well the pilot has just one special job of flying the plane. Other people do other special jobs like that one. It actually takes a lot of people to help get us and our things to fly from one place to another.


I don’t love flying – and I reckon few people do – but I am still grateful for the people who make it possible. I spend some hours packing, getting the timing and the papers all right, lining up, waiting and then waiting some more. For that, I get to be somewhere else much faster than by other ways. They get a day’s pay, which I guess they consider a fair trade. I don’t know how many flights per week a cargo loader, air steward or pilot might do, or how often they meet that tiny number of passengers who make things difficult, or what they have to deal with behind the scenes. So, thank you. I have time to sit and feel grateful, because the kids are settled.

(This is actually from November 2015, but the words haven’t dated. I’m still grateful to sit still when the kids are settled, and to anyone who helps that happen!)

