PostgreSQL backup and replication systems

There are too many PostgreSQL backup and replication systems for me to keep track in my head, so here’s a list, with a few details relevant to me. The high availability matrix helped, and I found BDR performance discussion helpful, even if I didn’t pay close attention to which-one-is-fastest.

Name Installation Summary
BDR  from source Custom psql binary, asynchronous multi-master replication, high performance
Bucardo  ports tree Asynchronous multi-master or master-slave replication
OmniPITR  github Scripts to manage and monitor WAL replication, hot backups from master or slave servers
pg-rman  ports tree
pgbarman  ports tree Hot physical backup, point-in-time recovery management
pgbarman plugin: pgespresso  ports tree Enables backup from standby server
pglogical  ports tree Logical (cf physical) master-slave replication, postgresql >= 9.4, high performance, flexible, no hot standby state
pgpool-II  ports tree Synchronous multi-master replication, requires conflict resolution
postgresql hot standby  built in
repmgr  ports tree Manage and monitor replication and failover to standby server
Slony-I  ports tree
Skytools, Londiste  ports tree Asynchronous master-slave replication

I reckon pgbarman plus pgespresso plus repmgr (all from 2ndQuadrant) will do what I want. OmniPITR probably would too, with what looks like easier setup against potentially fewer restore options.

