MythTV Migration: Machine Prep and Database Backup

I’m deploying a MythTV frontend, and the currently available 0.27 expects a database schema 18 versions newer than my Mythbuntu 12.04 server running MythTV 0.25 master backend and frontend. I’d quite like to deploy FreeBSD for one or both machines, if possible.

Getting Xorg working in FreeBSD was simple on my Intel NUC with the vesa driver automatically detected. The fine folks at #intel-gfx on freenode IRC told me that the Intel chipset (8086:0a16) was not yet supported by FreeBSD, and that support was needed for the GT2 portion of the intel driver. Sadly Xorg crashes hard whenever I leave its display – either by switching back to console with Ctrl-Alt-[0-7], or quitting Xorg entirely. Requiring a forced power-off in such situations clearly doesn’t bode well for reliability, and I’ve had no luck – despite a bit of assistance – from the BUGS, xorg or freebsd-questions forums.

So, back to Mythbuntu on the NUC, 14.04 this time. Xorg works fine, and from my reading of /var/log/Xorg.0.log it appears to be using the intel driver, not vesa.

$ grep vesa Xorg.0.log | tail -1
[    27.466] (II) Unloading vesa

Because I don’t want to upgrade the database schema (and probably much more) on my production Mythbuntu 12.04 machine until I’ve tested the procedure, I’ve built a temporary master backend machine, running FreeBSD 10.1, Xorg 7.7 (autoconfig, vesa driver, no crashes this time), MySQL 5.5 and Mythtv 0.27. Mythbuntu packages things up and makes them a bit easier, but I got to learn about some installation steps when doing it by hand:

$ mysql -u root < /usr/local/share/mythtv/database/mc.sql

For getting the database from old to testing backend, the Mythbuntu upgrading page sent me to the MythTV database backup and restore page, which taught me that there are tools to help, and for that I’m very grateful. Backup was easy, and quick:

$ echo "DBBackupDirectory=/home/mythtv" > ~/.mythtv/backuprc
$ sudo /usr/share/mythtv/mythconverg_backup.pl
$ ls -l ~mythtv
total 14360
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 14701471 Jan 8 20:44 mythconverg-1299-20150108204433.sql.gz

I now have a database backup, and a temporary backend machine with bare configuration. I’m ready for a test migration.

