The Birds of TC

A surprising highlight of our wintry visit to Michigan was the birds of Traverse City. I say wintry rather than winter, since in North America winter isn’t allowed to begin until the solstice, snow be damned. The birds appear to follow the same rules, or have some crazy survival techniques, because there were more than just a few around!

The cardinal first caught my eye, its bright red standing out against the white backdrop.

image

I wasn’t quick enough to get a decent photo of the bluejay, but I did get a fuzzy one. I’m actually not much of a photographer, tending to drink in the view and then rush off for a camera after it is too late. I spent a bit of time looking out of those windows at the apparently quite happy little birds. Every time I wondered (often aloud) how they could possibly stay alive in such conditions.

image

There were also goldfinches, sisskins, chickadees, a brief glimpse of a brilliant woodpecker with red highlights, and even a squirrel which was not popular with the locals. I guess kookaburras and rainbow lorikeets are cool birds to hear and see respectively – except they’re not very welcome in Western Australia. Maybe the squirrels are invaders from elsewhere.

image

image

