FreeBSD system upgrade – it Just Works

Since Windows 3.x, I’ve never had much luck with operating system upgrades, and by many accounts, neither has much of the world’s computer-using population. The safest method has been to backup, format, install the new one, restore. It would seem things are getting better. Mac OS X all but requires upgrades now (since by two versions old you’re not receiving security patches any more, and some programs refuse to work without security patches), and they work. I’ve still had significant trouble with upgrades to Windows 7, but have heard a few good stories. The GNU/Linux experience seems as varied as the OS itself, so I won’t try to comment much except that I’ve had a couple of failed Ubuntu upgrades, albeit a few years ago.

FreeBSD seems to Just Work. I’d never used it before a couple of years ago, but on first reading of the relevant handbook page, the steps became clear, and they Just Worked!

# freebsd-update -r 8.4-RELEASE upgrade

I can’t be sure, but I reckon a big part of it is the clear separation between the core of the OS, and the packages installed through the ports system (or prebuilt binaries).

Other operating systems which have decent package management (of which I have most experience with GNU/Linux) seem to come with a lot of packages installed, but not FreeBSD. Also, in the vast majority of cases non-core packages that get installed to FreeBSD don’t get to touch system locations like /etc, rather they use /usr/local/etc for the config files. In fact /usr/local seems to be the general prefix for all things package-related. At system upgrade time, only the core elements are upgraded, leaving the packages untouched, which means they can be upgraded separately.

Of course, there are then arguments to be made about which functionality should be core, because the core could get unmanageably big, and offer services only a very small few would want. Too small and it becomes a pain to bootstrap a machine to a useable state. I reckon FreeBSD has balanced this well – I get ssh, ntp, vi, and a range of other basic items from core. If I want vim, bash or sudo, I install them.

As a relatively new user, I’m pretty pleased with all of this.

