Experts? Professionals?

My wife is a brilliant, insightful, passionate, integral, trained professional in the often under appreciated human services industry. She spends her 9-5 M-F hours being part of the solution to the world’s problems. I could certainly feel a bit intimidated by that, when it comes to contributing in some way myself. I don’t though, because I’m not convinced it matters.

Something I (re-)discovered at the week in Dunsborough , was that I don’t need to be an expert, or even anything close to one. Three reasons jump out at me:

  1. There are so many areas of need in the world, and there aren’t anywhere near enough experts to be doing all of the tasks. The only trait I really need is willingness – all else will follow. A team can accomplish much more than an individual, so all I have to do is find a team who will take me. This has turned out to be remarkably easy. See my first post 🙂
  2. Doing something I’m not good at, results in getting better at it! I get a broader experience of life, and a taste of something I might find out to be enjoyable or fulfilling.
  3. My biblical referencing is shaky enough as to not bother (an exercise for the reader perhaps)[1], but God uses our weaknesses as a fulcrum for His strength. When I’m doing something that I’m not confident at, I find it much easier to rely on prayer and let go of my proud insistence that I can do it without anyone’s help, thankyouverymuch. It makes for good teamwork too.

[1] Ok I cheated. Google gave me this message board post which gave me 2 Corinthians 12:10. Hooray for someone else’s biblical referencing.

